A Dal 2015 comes out with a series of innovations

A Dal logo 100x100The popular Hungarian national selection show A Dal will once again help to select the song that will represent Hungary at the Eurovision Song Contest in Vienna. As an ever evolving format, the 2015 edition of A Dal will introduce a number of innovations.

The shows will be hosted by Csilla Tatár, an experienced professional freshly signed to MTVA. Previously she had been the host of various TV shows, including a popular morning show. Fans will be happy to see Levente Harsányi, who returns as the backstage presenter. He will be the first and last point of contact with the artists before their performances, and he will make sure viewers feel involved in the behind the scenes events. Levente will also host Dal+, the new aftershow which will be broadcast on MTVA’s youth channel, M2 immediately after the live shows.

Another innovation that will make A Dal 2015 an even more immersive experience is the introduction of the audience as the fifth jury member. Apart from jury members Magdi Rúzsa, Philip Rákay, Jenő Csiszár and Pierrot (a successful figure of the Hungarian pop music scene both as a producer, songwriter and performer and first-time jury member) the viewers will be able to cast their votes via the newly developed mobile app, thus becoming the fifth jury member. Viewer participation has always been an integral part of A Dal via televoting, but the new system will provide the audience with even greater influence on the outcome of the competition.

A Dal 2015 jury

This year the artists will be allowed to re-orchestrate their songs for the semi-finals making it possible for “… a pop or dance based song to include acoustic guitars in the semi-finals for example” – said Philip Rákay. This will add more variety to the show and will give artists a chance to find out what works well on stage and react to the feedback received from the jury and the audience.

The first heat of A Dal will be aired on 24 January, followed by two more heats and two weeks of semi-finals. The final will be broadcast live on 28 February.